To ensure that people only join groups that are “relevant and meaningful to them,” Facebook last week announced updates to how members are invited to them.
With Groups becoming such an important part of its community – especially in the last two years or so – Facebook wants to make sure that people are only being added to, or are joining, those that are right for them. As such, it’s making several updates to how people are invited to groups.
Now, people who have been invited to a group will be able to accept or decline an invite. Previously, they could be added to groups by friends “who thought they might be interested in them,” and they’d become members without having to do anything. Therefore, many members may have never even visited a group.
3 NEW features for Facebook Groups…
The new ‘Invited Section’ is most interesting to me with its impact on total member count. https://t.co/k9Mihq3Xhz
— Matt Navarra (@MattNavarra) January 17, 2019
So now, the people who’ve been added to a group but have never visited it will now appear in a group’s Invited section within the Members list instead, and they will not be considered members until they have accepted an invite. Therefore will not be included in a group’s total member count. As a result, many group admins may notice a sudden decrease in a group’s total member count. The list of members on the Invited section is only accessible by admins and moderators.
Finally, Facebook is giving admins the ability to send invited people notifications to remind them to accept or decline an invite.
More from Facebook
Facebook is accepting applications from Offline Conversions partners for its Facebook Marketing Partners program.
In this tutorial, we’ll show you how to customise the appearance of your Facebook Dynamic Ads with the use of …