WhatsApp extended the February deadline to May 15, but users are having none of it. Now, WhatsApp is relaxing the deadline, making it effective for new users. Existing users will be encouraged to accept, as they will have limited functionality until they do.
The app has displayed a notification about the updates for the last few weeks, but soon it will become persistent.
That’s where things start getting complicated. When you start receiving a persistent reminder to accept the updates, functionality on your app will be limited until you accept.
For example, you won’t be able to access your chat list – yet, you’ll still be able to answer incoming phone and video calls.
Furthermore, if you have notifications enabled, you will be able to tap on them to read a message, respond to it, or call someone back.
After experiencing limited functionality for a few weeks, you will stop receiving incoming calls or notifications, and you won’t receive incoming calls or notifications. Finally, WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your device.
At any time, you can export your chat history and download a report of your account. Of course, you can also delete your account altogether.
Despite the above, WhatsApp says that it won’t delete your account if you never accept the updates, but keep in mind that you probably soon won’t be able to do much with your account if you don’t.
You might also like
More from WhatsApp
After launching disappearing messages last year, WhatsApp is now working on images that self-destruct when you leave a chat.
After bringing Face ID to its mobile app in 2019, WhatsApp is now introducing biometric authentication to its web or …
WhatsApp is giving users more time to think about accepting a new data sharing policy that would see their data …
WhatsApp is expected to move into a range of services in India within 2021 - including health insurance and pension …