Christmas has come early, it seems, for all you “Snappers” out there! Snapchat announced some new features in its app – Groups, and two new Creative Tools.
Groups is Snapchat‘s new Group Chat feature that gives you “a new way to communicate with up to 16 friends.” You can create a Group while sending a Snap, or while creating a new Chat. It’s really that simple. And if you’ve got any “privacy concerns,” each Snap sent within a Group will be deleted 24 hours later by default. Also, each recipient will be able to view and replay a Snap only once. Finally, just like with Chats, any Snap that is not opened gets deleted in 24 hours.
You can see which of your friends are within a Group, as their name appears at the bottom of each Chat. But don’t let Groups stop you from 1:1 messaging with your friends. You can use Quick Chat by tapping on a friend’s name at the bottom – it’s the best way to continue a discussion with a specific person, without spamming everyone else. If you want to get back to the Group Chat, simply swipe.
Snapchat is also bringing two new Creative Tools to its app. The first, Scissors, can be used to make a cutout of a Snap. That can then be turned into a sticker. The second, is Paintbrush. It can be applied to Snaps in Memories. The company says it turns your Snaps into artistic masterpiece!
More from Snapchat
Snapchat is debuting Snap Originals - exclusive Shows featuring interactive experiences that users can actually step into and share with …
Snapchat is rolling out several new advertising options to help brands with their eCommerce efforts this holiday season.
Ahead of the US midterm elections, Snapchat wants to encourage its young users to register to vote, thanks to in-app …