Instagram wants to keep its feeds clean of content that violates its community guidelines. And its latest update may well be “blurring” some of your content.
You can’t share anything you want on Instagram. There are rules. For example, sexually explicit or violent content will automatically be removed from the app. But now, Instagram is taking it a step further, by potentially blocking out sensitive content that might not “technically” break its community guidelines.
Starting immediately, posts that have been reported as offensive by other users, despite not breaking any rule per se, will be blurred, and marked as sensitive content, both in list and grid display modes.
Your content will still be available, but users will have to tap an acknowledgment in order to view it. Instagram claims that this new feature will help prevent “surprising or unwanted experiences” while putting more moderation power in the hands of users – instead of having to keep control of everything itself.
And That’s Not All…
Today Instagram is also opening two-factor authentication to all users. To enable it, tap on the gear icon from your profile page, scroll down to “two-factor authorisation,” and choose “require security code.” You will then receive an authentication code via text message on your phone.
Instagram is working hard to provide a safe environment for its users. And it is doing wonders for the growth of its community.
More from Instagram
Instagram was hacked yesterday. Many users found themselves locked out of their accounts. Here are the steps you need to …
Instagram Polls are already all the rage on Stories. Now you can also send polls to your friends in private …