WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature called ‘View Once’ that lets users set photos and videos to disappear from chats once they are viewed.
“While taking photos or videos on our phones has become such a big part of our lives, not everything we share needs to become a permanent digital record. On many phones, simply taking a photo means it will take up space in your camera roll forever.”
In a blog post published on Tuesday, WhatsApp announced the rollout of ‘view once’ photos and videos that disappear from the chat after they’ve been opened, giving users even more control over their privacy.
The platform gave a few examples of how the new feature may be useful, whether it is a photo of some new clothes you are trying on at a store, a quick video reaction to a moment in time, or something sensitive like a photo of your Wi-Fi password.
‘View Once’ photos and videos are protected by end-to-end encryption, which means that WhatsApp cannot see them. They will also be clearly marked with a new “one-time” icon. After they have been viewed once, the message will appear as “opened” but the media will no longer be available. WhatsApp says the label will help people make sense of what was happening in the chat before the photo or video was removed.
You might also like
More from WhatsApp
A change spotted in WhatsApp beta limits the sharing of regular messages (not just frequently forwarded ones) with multiple chats.
WhatsApp announced its first global brand partnership with Milwaukee Bucks forward and 2021 NBA All-Star MVP Giannis Antetokounmpo.
Α new feature allowing users to migrate chats from Android to iOS has been spotted on both OS updates for …
WhatsApp is becoming more private by showing your online status only to your existing contacts, or those you've chatted with …
Whatsapp has launched a pilot program to test the ability to send and receive instant payments with a simple chat …
Spotify is reportedly introducing a TikTok-like vertical video feed with music videos songs in a new dedicated Discovery tab.
WhatsApp will now let users link up to four iOS or Android devices to one account without compromising privacy.