Facebook’s new Manage Activity feature gives you an easy way to clean up your older posts in bulk, either by archiving or deleting them completely.
Many of us fear our social media past. It can come and haunt your new relationship, harm your chances of getting that next job, or simply cause pain by bringing up moments you would rather have forgotten.
Manage Activity is Facebook’s new feature that allows you to deal with your past and clean up your social media history. It lets you archive older posts of your choice so that only you can see them, or delete them altogether, for good. Even then, posts that are sent to the ‘Trash’ will remain there for 30 days before being permanently deleted. So you can always change your mind.
The new feature is rolling out to Facebook’s flagship mobile app today, with plans for it to come to the web app and Lite mobile app in the near future.
The Manage Activity tool allows you to clean up your past posts in bulk as you can use filters to sort out your content, including dates, people tagged and content type (text, photo or video.)
Facebook said in a Newsroom post, “Whether you’re entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people’s lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to more accurately reflect who you are today. That’s why we’re launching Manage Activity to help you archive or trash old posts, all in one place.”