Security is the primary concern for users and social networks. Both parties struggle to keep their data as hidden as possible and to avoid any security breaches which will tarnish trust and will bring users (and celebrities!) to an awkward situation.
Facebook decided to develop a checkup tool that will help users monitor and evaluate what they share and with who they share. The announcement was made official yesterday on their blog and, according, to Paddy Underwood, Product Manager:
“We know you come to Facebook to connect with friends, not with us. But we also know how important it is to be in control of what you share and who you share with.”
This new feature is available for all users and will appear in a pop up window when you log into your account. The checkup will include a three-step process.
The first step will check whether you’re sharing with the right people:
The second step will run an app check showing users which apps have access to users’ profiles. Users will decide whether they can adjust their settings or delete them completely.
The last step will help users review and edit the privacy of key pieces of information on their profiles.
The checkup will be accessible at all times by clicking Privacy Shortcuts.
You can also check the video below that will guide you through the process.
Would you like to see more security updates from Facebook?