Google Play Games has added a new ‘Play Together’ feature that allows people to play games and compete with their friends.
Last month XDA Developers reported that it “found hints” of a new feature within Google Play Games that would allow users to play games together and compete with one another. The feature has now started rolling out as part of a server-side update.
The new feature replaces your Profile tab with a new Social tab, that when tapped, will explain how it all works. For example, you will be able to decide who can see your gaming activity (only you, friends, or everyone), or if you want games to be able to access your friends’ list. The latter is an obvious necessity if you want to play some games with your friends.
As soon as you’ve got everything set up, you’ll find a new Friends tab on the Social page right beneath your profile name and image. This will include suggested friends from your contacts, but you can also add friends manually by searching for them or sharing a link with them.
When your friends have been added, you can compare stats and find out which games you both play, and this way, you can compete with them and compare your achievements, which can also be found beneath your profile name and image.
You won’t need to update your Google Play Games app to use the new feature as it’s being rolled out server-side.
You might also like
More from Google
Google Cloud has announced a new feature within its TTS API that lets users generate a unique, new synthetic voice …
On March 22, users attempting to access Google's Hangouts chat services will automatically be redirected to Google Chat instead.
Almost two years after introducing search chips into Gmail, Google has now announced the rollout of supportive filters to Google …
Google has announced early access to Chrome OS Flex, a new version of Chrome OS that will bring the benefits …
Starting this April, marketers can begin upgrading their Smart Shopping and Local campaigns to Performance Max.
Google announced that accounts hacks have dropped by 50% since it turned on two-factor authentication by default for all users.