Gmail for Android has a new feature that lets you “unsend” messages from your device. But be careful, you only have 10 seconds!
Whether it is something as small as a typo, or as scary as sending an email to the wrong person, knowing that you can “unsend” an email feels like the perfect security blanket. Well, good news Android users, your Gmail now gives you 10 seconds to do just that.
Android Police spotted the feature. While the “unsend” feature has been available on the web and iOS versions for a long time, weirdly it is only rolling out on Android now.
Once you’ve composed an email and hit Send, you will see a “sending” notification at the bottom of your screen, along with an “undo” button. You then have 10 seconds to tap on it and unsend your email. The message will be stored in your drafts so you can edit as necessary before sending again.
The feature works because Google allows to “pull back” messages sent to other Gmail users. The 10-second window, however, is there thanks to the short delay Google allows before emails are received by other providers.
If you don’t see the feature, try updating your Gmail app to the latest version.
You might also like
More from Google
One man could not find his hometown on Google Maps, so he took it upon himself to get Zimbabwe on …
As part of Google's commitment to helping users reduce their environmental footprint, Maps will soon default to routes that have …