Have you lost quite a few followers on Twitter? Don’t worry; it’s not you, it’s them. Twitter will stop counting locked accounts in users’ total number of followers.
“We understand this may be hard for some, but we believe accuracy and transparency make Twitter a more trusted service for public conversation,” the company explained.
The decision is part of Twitter’s “healthy conversations” initiative which seeks to get rid of fraudulent and spammy accounts. Vijaya Gadde, Twitter’s Legal, Policy, and Trust & Safety Lead, said that the change in followers should be tiny for most users. However, users with large followings, especially those built by purchasing followers, could take a much bigger hit.
But what are locked accounts really?
Locked accounts are not necessarily bots or spam accounts. Twitter locks accounts for several different reasons. One of the most common reasons is when Twitter believes an account has tweeted “a large volume of unsolicited replies and mentions” or if it has tweeted “misleading links.” Twitter will also most likely lock an account when “a large number of accounts block the account after mentioning them.”
Being locked does not necessarily mean you will lose your account either. Twitter will always contact the account owner with instructions on how to unlock the account. But if not satisfactory actions are taken within one month, the account will then be deleted for good.
Have you lost a large number of followers? Good! Now you can have more “healthy conversations.”
You might also like
More from Twitter
Twitter is now allowing all advertisers to use its new Tweet replies ad placement, for app install ads, on iOS …
Twitter has made it harder to switch between the Latest and Home feeds in the app, with the algorithm-based feed …
Twitter recently unveiled a new Creator Dashboard to help creators make the shift into monetized content creation.
Twitter has announced updates for its Birdwatch crowdsourced fact-checking program, and a new testing group of random US users.
Developers can take part in the initiative and identify their accounts as bots, displaying a label on their profiles and …
The tool, which automatically blocks abusive accounts for seven days, has been extended to users in a number of English-speaking …