Facebook just acknowledged that a bug in its system between May 29th and June 5 has let people you had previously blocked see what you posted.
When you block someone on Facebook, you usually expect that they will no longer be able to find you nor see your activity on the platform. While this is usually the case, Facebook admitted to yet another privacy bug that let people you blocked see what you posted.
According to Facebook, the bug was live between May 29 and June 5 and impacted over 800,000 accounts. If you were affected, Facebook will reach out and send you a notification (as below).
Even if the bug “unblocked” people you had previously blocked, they became blocked again once Facebook found and corrected the bug. Also worth noting, is the fact that the bug would only let these users see what you shared publicly, not what you shared with your friends only.
However, the bug would have allowed for people you had blocked to contact you through Messenger and/or try to re-add you as a friend. Facebook did not explain what caused the bug but confirmed that it has now been fixed.
More from Facebook
The UK's Information Commissioner's Office has announced that it will fine Facebook for the Cambridge Analytica data breaches.
Facebook's first funded news shows debut on July 16 and will be appearing in a new section within Facebook Watch. …